Tags

, , ,

Location: Near Gateway of India, Colaba


A commercial street bustling in south Mumbai,

Shaheed Bhagat Singh road the original name,

Popular largely for its fashion display,

Cheaper prices through haggling one may pay, 

I took a walk down this long street,

Visited earlier for beer guzzling treats,

Out to capture colourful hues today,

Glistening through summer trends worn by shoppers whilst on way, 

Spotted through my camera some beautiful sights,

A few proving to be visual delights,

But these were worn by locals there,

Men, women and children in everyday wear,

Most going about their daily chores,

I looked now harder at what they wore,

Saris shimmering, shades of all colours,

Women looking splendid even on way to the fruit seller’s,

Young boys crossing haphazardly the street,

Jeans with patterns as jazzy as may be,

Kohli fisherfolk baskets on their head,

I noticed first time different shades in their wear,

Loose cloth hanging around their waist,

Those patterns making for fashionable display,

Flowing garb of Bohri women,

Gold and silver embellished Taqiyahs, must be festive season, 

A homeless girl looked up at me,

I noticed her dress, vibrant till its seam,

Closing my eyes, soaking in these sights,

I realized a gain of newer insights, 

Through pinks and greens and yellows and blues,

Local outfits, they were fascinating to view,

I learned to look around me more, 

To appreciate the beauty of simple folk, 

For it was then that I felt Mumbai aglow.  

This slideshow requires JavaScript.